The Beginning

October 26, 2008

A friend of mine shared with me her secret of how she become proficient in writing. She claims it was because her father forced her to write: anything, everything, all the time, no matter how mundane and pointless it was. She’s also an aspiring music historian/musicologist, like me. Pursuing a career in the Humanities is a precarious decision, and more often than once I’ve questioned my sanity over it. Nonetheless, my youthful optimism continues to blind reason and commonsense, for surely, passion and preserverance can overcome mountains… right?

Never mind. Let’s not dwell on uncertain futures. Anyway, back to the point of this blog. I am currently on the underhand in that I do not know how to communicate effectively, a trait absolutely essential for success in this field. I am naturally quiet, and am horrible at impromptu conversations: I can handle straightforward dialogue, but ask me to partake in thoughtful, engaging conversations, and I usually end up bumbling incoherently; I am better at writing, but I take too painstakingly long at it. However, I think that, as with most things, communicating is an acquired skill – it takes practice, as my friend can attest to, and what better place to practice than on an anonymous blog?

So there we have it. I don’t know how long this experiment will last (considering my fondness for abandoning blogs), but we can only know once we get past the beginning.

Leave a Reply

